Why I am not on Facebook

työpöytä

We live on the internet. That’s just the fact about today’s world. We live partly in the real life and partly on the amazing web. Sadly, some of us live more of their day on their devices than in the reality. Social media has been strongly pressed in the past years, and even schools and businesses are teaching you to throw your life into the net. Perhaps the biggest pressure is on our teenagers, who feel like their value is measured by the number of likes, thumbs ups and “cutes”.

selfie

Clearly, by looking at the footer of my blog, you can see that I am challenging the status quo. Hallelujah, I don’t have facebook! Nor Instagram! Nor Twitter! Not to mention all the Asks and what not. And I am not old and decayed either. Let me tell you the reason why I chose a different kind of internet presence.

My little fans at the academy have overloaded me with stickers - where else do you put them?

My little fans at the academy have overloaded me with stickers – where else do you put them?

Not too long ago, we had a DiGi Day at our university (Haaga-Helia UAS in Porvoo), a whole day dedicated to the digital world. During that day we learnt that if a business is not online, it doesn’t exist. We got plenty of great information about online marketing, websites, internet behavior and social media.

the use of media

of courseDigi dayWhile enjoying learning from great speeches and workshops, one question kept going around in my head. How to maintain human balance and be present in the moment, when you are supposed to literally throw yourself as a whole into the internet? In fact, it is scientifically proven that when checking email and social media frequently, our brain capacity drops to a level of a nine year old.

How do I notice that in my life to be true? When I had Facebook and Instagram, I would scroll down those pages a good percentage of my time. I would work there. I would talk with friends there. I would follow people’s lives there. I would report my life there for others to follow. I would crop pictures, fix contrasts, check comments, count likes, sketch updates, make marketing plans. I belonged to numerous groups and chats on Facebook, and I would keep myself on track of those. I co-authored a business page. I followed my customers; I built relationships over the cables.

tietsikal

I still remember where I was walking back and forth when I made that call. I was on that grassy part of the steep hill of Finlandia University in Hancock, when I called my good friend Jukka Jumppanen and opened my heart to him. I told him that I felt like even though I was living my dream as being an exchange student in the US, I felt like I was not able to live it fully because a majority of my day was spent online. I felt like life was not life anymore, when half of my focus was always on what was going on on the net. I felt like with my personality, it was impossible to stretch my attention to dozens of sites and groups and chats and followings, plus my real life with homework, new friends, traveling, and offline work – not to mention free time.

I remember asking him: am I crazy if I delete all social media? Would I be able to maintain my business without social media? Would my customers understand if I deleted Facebook? That would be such a huge change, would I be able to do it? I mean, NO ONE deletes all their social media these days. Unless they are like old or weird. Well, as it appears, I chose to be weird over not listening to my heart.

It must not be a surprise one of my favorite women thinks alike

Ps. I love Emma Watson

Boy, talk about the freedom after clicking the yes button to “Are you sure you want to permanently delete all your pictures and information?” Oh my goodness! The feeling of knowing that for the rest of my life, I can just enjoy each moment, and I don’t have to dig out my phone and think “what kind of an angle would look good on Instagram?” Talk about the lovely feeling of cultivating relationships in real life instead of relying on virtual messages. Has it destroyed my business? Heck no! Let me tell you all: your business or life is not dependent on you being on social media, whatsoever.

Now, I do not mean you should never go online or that you should not mention your business in the internet. No. I am just saying, there are a million ways under the stars to live your life, follow your friends, communicate with people, and market your business. There are also several ways to build a solid online presence. What I have chosen to do is to have a focused one. Instead of being scattered all over social media, I am now on a few sites that suit my nature best.

IMG_9123

I am on LinkedIn, because I think it is a good place for a professional to have a reliable profile on the internet. Also, it is a place to network with other professionals. I am on Pinterest, which is a virtual dream board to me.

dreaming

I have returned to Whatsapp after deleting it last fall because many of my friends don’t have free unlimited text messages and it is thus the handiest way to keep in touch with them. Also, since I am not on Facebook, this is really the only other sound option for communicating with colleagues and customers.In addition to these, the only other place I am on internet is this blog. For a long time, I have wanted to add a website or a blog to my “online portfolio” since I think that brings accountability (if a customer googles me, they can find a site where they can see I am a real person, I do write, breathe and smile). I also see this as a good place to share what I learn and what I see valuable enough to pass on.

I hope I will always be able to maintain a balance with my online and offline life. I hope blogging will always stay fun to me, and it will never take over my life. As my friend Kevin Haughton said in the pool at the youth hostel in Guayaquil last weekend: “Never lose track of who you are”. We should remember that what we do offline is way more important than what we do online. It is more valuable to tell someone face to face that you love them, than to send a heart over the internet. It is better to see the Chinese wall with your own eyes instead of pinning it to your travel board on Pinterest. It is still immensely  important to call your customers, and not only occasionally chat on Facebook.

who you are

My dear readers, if you are dreaming of leaving social media, I encourage to weigh down the priorities in your life. What is truly important to you? If you were told to only live for one more month, where would you spend your time? If Facebook is not on that list, then perhaps you could consider crossing it off of your agenda already now. Some things are not worth waiting till the dramatic news. Most people on their death bed tell that what they wish they had done more is to spend time with their loved ones, be in the nature and take more risks.

I think this is such an interesting topic for us today’s people. My parents’ generation has lived most of their life with no internet, my generation has lived childhood with no internet and the generation of today’s children have lived all their life on the internet.

The beloved childhood days when we drank afternoon coffee with family instead of tapping the smartphones

The beloved childhood days of family afternoons with no smartphones even in our wildest imagination

How intriguing it is to see how all that effects on human development, behaviour and brain! How fascinating of a research problem is that for the scientists! I am a neuropsychologist at heart and that just gives me the thrills.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this. Have you ever thought of deleting your social media? How does such a thought make you feel? Do you think social media and smart phones have changed or will change people somehow? Let’s continue the conversation down below!

Well, ok, there are some pros to social media. You can for example go for virtual coffee at your friends over the ocean

Well, ok, there is one pro to social media – you can go for virtual coffee at your friends’ over the ocean

***

Suomeksi:

Elämme internetissä. Se on fakta nykyajan maailmasta. Elämme osittain tosielämää, ja osittain rinnakkaiselämää verkossa. Surullista kyllä, osa meistä elää nykyään jopa suuremman osan ajastaan netissä kuin todellisuudessa. Sosiaalista mediaa on nostettu esiin voimakkaasti viime vuosina, ja jopa koulut ja yritykset opettavat ihmisiä heittäytymään verkkoon täysin siemauksin. Kenties suurimman paineen alla on teinit, jotka ehkä kokevat, että heidän arvonsa on riippuvainen tykkäysten, peukkujen ja ”kaunein”-kommenttien määrästä.

Jokainen voi huomata blogini alareunasta, että rikon tässä nyt selvästi jotain yleistä sääntöä. Mulla ei nimittäin ole Facebookia. Eikä Instagramia. Eikä Twitteriä. Puhumattakaan kaiken maailman Askeista sun muista. Eikä syynä ole se, että olisin vanhuuden käppänöissäni kapinallinen. Nyt saatte kuulla syyn, miksi olen tehnyt erilaisia valintoja internetin kanssa.

Tänä keväänä meillä oli DiGi-päivä koululla (Porvoon Haaga-Helia ammattikorkeakoulussa), joka oli siis kokonainen teemapäivä omistettu digitaaliselle maailmalle. Opimme, että jos yritys ei ole netissä, sitä ei ole olemassa. Saimme paljon tietoa nettimarkkinoinnista, kotisivuista, sosiaalisesta mediasta ja niin edelleen. Yksi kysymys kuitenkin pyöri mielessäni. Kuinka säilyttää inhimillinen tasapaino ja olla läsnä hetkessä, kun ihmiseltä odotetaan täyttä heittäytymistä netissä? On tutkittua, että jos ihminen tarkistaa sähköpostiaan ja sosiaalista mediaa useita kertoja työn ohessa, aivokapasiteetti laskee hetkellisesti yhdeksänvuotiaan tasolle.

Kuinka huomaan omassa elämässäni tämän olevan totta? Kun mulla oli Facebook ja Instagram, scrollasin noita sivuja hyvän osan ajastani. Tein töitä. Puhuin kavereiden kanssa. Seurasin ihmisten elämää. Raportoin omasta elämästäni, jotta muut voisivat seurata sitä. Rajasin kuvia, korjasin värikylläisyyksiä, luin kommentteja, laskin tykkäyksiä, luonnostelin tilapäivityksiä, tein markkinointisuunnitelmia. Kuuluin lukuisiin ryhmiin ja keskusteluihin, ja pidin itseni ajan tasalla. Olin kirjoittajana bisnessivulla. Seurasin asiakkaitani, rakensin ihmissuhteita kaapeleita pitkin.

Muistan yhä missä kohtaa kävelin edes takaisin kun soitin sen puhelun. Olin siinä ruohoisessa kohdassa Finlandia Universityn jyrkässä mäessä Hancockissa, kun soitin ystävälleni Jukka Jumppaselle ja avauduin. Kerroin, kuinka olen aina unelmoinut vaihto-oppilaana olemisesta ja nyt kun se vihdoin toteutuu, en voi elää sitä täysillä, kun suurin osa päivästäni kuluu netissä. Tunsin, ettei elämä ollut enää elämää, kun puolikeskittymistä oli aina siinä, mitä tapahtui ruudun takana. Tuntui, että minun persoonallisuudelleni oli mahdotonta venyttää huomiota kymmeniin sivuihin ja ryhmiin ja keskusteluihin ja seuraamisiin – saatikka sitten oikeaan elämään, johon kuuluu läksyt, uudet ystävät, matkustaminen, työ ja vieläpä vapaa-aika.

Muistan, kun kysyin Jukalta: olenko hullu jos poistan kaiken sosiaalisen median? Pystynkö jatkamaan yrittäjyyttä normaalisti ilman sitä? Ymmärtävätkö asiakkaat, jos poistan Facebookin? Se on niin iso muutos, että onko musta siihen? Tai siis, eihän KUKAAN nykyään mene ja poista sosiaalista mediaa. Ellei ne ole vanhoja tai outoja. Ja, näyttääpä siltä että valitsin ennemmin olla outo kuin olla kuuntelematta sydäntäni.

Mikään ei voi kuvailla sitä tunnetta, joka seurasi kun klikkasin kyllä kysymykseen ”Oletko varma että haluat poistaa kaikki kuvat ja tiedot pysyvästi?”. Mikä vapauden tunne! Se tunne, kun tietää, että koko loppu elämän voi nauttia jokaisesta hetkestä täysillä, eikä tarvitse kaivaa puhelinta esiin ja ajatella ”mistä kuvakulmasta tää näyttäis hyvältä Instagramissa?”. Ja se ihana tunne, kun saa hoitaa ihmissuhteita tosielämässä sen sijaan että nojautuisi virtuaaliviesteihin. Oliko se yrittäjyyden loppu? Kaukana siitä! Anna kun kerron: bisneksesi tai elämäsi tai mikään mukaan ei ole riippuvainen siitä, oletko sosiaalisessa mediassa.

Okei, en tietenkään tarkoita sitä, ettei kannattaisi olla netissä ollenkaan eikä mainita yritystään siellä. Ei, haluan vain ilmaista, että on olemassa miljoonia tapoja elää elämää, seurata kavereita, kommunikoida ihmisten kanssa ja markkinoida yritystä. On myös lukuisia tapoja rakentaa omaan elämään sopivaa, kantavaa sosiaalisen median lautasmallia. Itse valitsin keskittämisen. Sen sijaan että olisin hajaantunut ympäriinsä, olen nyt vain muutamalla sivustolla, jotka sopivat minulle parhaiten.

Olen LinkedInissä, koska uskon, että se on hyvä paikka ammattilaiselle luotettavan profiilin laittamiseksi internetiin. Se on myös hyvä paikka muiden ammattilaisten kanssa verkostoitumiseen. Olen Pinterestissä, koska se on unelmointiväline. ”Loppujen lopuksi, unelmointi on suunnittelemisen muoto”, kuten joku viisas joskus sanoi. Olen palannut Whatsappiin sen jälkeen, kun sen viime syksynä poistin. Palasin sinne sen takia, koska monella ystävälläni ei ole rajattomia ilmaisia tekstiviestejä, ja se on paras väline yhteydenpitoon. Se on myös ainut realistinen paikka kollegoiden ja asiakkaiden kanssa käytävään kommunikaatioon, nyt kun en ole Facebookissa. Näiden sivustojen lisäksi olen tietenkin täällä blogissa. Olen jo pitkään halunnut lisätä nettisivun tai blogin ”virtuaaliportfoliooni”, sillä uskon, että se tuo uskottavuutta (jos asiakas esimerkiksi googlaa nimeni, hän voi löytää sivuston josta näkee että olen oikea ihminen). Näen blogin myös hyvänä paikkana jakaa kaikkea oppimaani ja eteenpäin antamisen arvoista.

Toivon, että voin aina säilyttää tasapainon netti- ja reaalielämäni välillä. Toivon todella, että bloggaaminen säilyisi aina hauskana, eikä koskaan ottaisi yliotetta elämästäni. Kuten kaverini Kevin Haughton sanoi viime viikonloppuna nuorisohostellin uima-altaassa: ”Älä ikinä kadota sitä kuka oikeasti olet”. Pitäisi aina muistaa, että se mitä tekee reaalielämässä, on paljon tärkeämpää kuin se, mitä tekee nettimaailmassa. On tärkeämpää kertoa jollekin kasvotusten rakastavansa häntä, kuin lähettää sydän viestissä. On parempi nähdä Kiinan muuri omin silmin, kuin lisätä se matkustustauluun Pinterestissä. On mittaamattoman tärkeää soittaa asiakkaille, eikä vain lähettää viestiä netissä silloin tällöin.

Rakkaat lukijani, jos unelmoitte sosiaalisen median jättämisestä, rohkaisen teitä mittaamaan mielessänne, mikä teidän elämän todellinen tärkeysjärjestys on. Mikä on oikeasti oleellista? Jos sinulle kerrottaisiin, että sinulla olisi kuukausi elinaikaa jäljellä, missä viettäisit aikasi? Jos Facebook ei ole listalla, ehkä kannattaisi harkita sen yliviivaamista tehtävälistalta jo nyt. Jotkut asiat eivät ole sen arvoisia, että odotamme traagisiin uutisiin asti. Olen kuullut, että suurin osa ihmisistä toivoo kuolinpetillään, että he olisivat viettäneet enemmän aikaa rakkaimpiensa kanssa, olleet enemmän luonnossa ja ottaneet enemmän riskejä.

Tämä on mielestäni mielenkiintoinen aihe. Vanhempieni sukupolvi eli suurimman osan elämästään ilman internetiä, oma sukupolveni eli lapsuutensa ilman internetiä, ja tämän päivän lasten sukupolvi on elänyt koko elämänsä internetissä. Kuinka jännittävää on nähdä kaiken tämän vaikutukset ihmisen kehitykseen, käytökseen ja aivoihin. Kuinka kiehtova tutkimusongelma tämä on tutkijoille! Olen neuropsykologi sydämessä, ja tämä aihe kutkuttaa mieltäni suuresti.

Olisi mahtavaa kuulla sinun ajatuksia tästä. Oletko koskaan ajatellut sosiaalisen median poistamista? Mitä se ajatus saa sinut tuntemaan? Ajatteletko, että sosiaalinen media ja älypuhelimet muuttavat ihmisiä jotenkin? Jatketaan keskustelua tässä alla! Lupaan vastata jokaiseen kommenttiinne.

Leave a comment